Agricultural Property Location: Tudenham Park House, Mullingar, Co. Westmeath
This 18th century estate on 65 acres of grass land on the banks of Lough Ennell is a unique chance to own a piece of history. Located beside the Belvedere House estate and separated by the “Jealous Wall.” The house is three storeys over a basement and is in need of renovation, with the roof having been removed in 1957. The land comes with 2km approx. of lake frontage and a boathouse.
Tudenham Park House, originally called Rochfort House, is an 18th-century Palladian limestone country house located in Tudenham Park on the Rochfort Demesne near Belvedere House and Gardens beside Lough Ennell, County Westmeath, Ireland.
The construction on the house began in 1717, and it was completed in 1742 for George Rochfort. It was purchased by Sir Francis Hopkins in 1836, and the name was subsequently changed from Rochfort to Tudenham Park.
The house is known for being involved in an ordeal with Robert Rochfort’s brother, George, which resulted in Robert constructing The Jealous Wall so he would not have to look at his brother’s grander house. During World War II, the house was used as a convalescent home for army officers.